top of page
Europa-Tour Banner_edited.jpg

EUROPE IN VIENNA

CHARLEMAGNE, HIGH-TECH PROJECTS AND BEETHOVEN'S ANTHEM
- A CITY TOUR THROUGH 1200 YEARS OF EUROPE IN VIENNA

We start our tour at the House of the EU and Vienna's European present. What significance does the EU actually have for Austria? There were a few stumbling blocks on Austria's way into the Union. We take a closer look at them and explore the fascinating historical context of Austria's accession in 1995 at the PaN (Partners of All Nations) table and the tree circle in Sigmund Freud Park.

Europe owes its anthem to Ludwig van Beethoven. The Pasqualatihaus on the Ringstrasse was one of the great composer's Viennese residences. Probably the most important promise made when the European Union was founded was the promise of peace. Even at the beginning of the 20th century, Berta Zuckerkandl was a courageous fighter against violence and war! She held her salons right next to the Burgtheater. In contrast, the Congress of Vienna, which we are tracing at Ballhausplatz, was often ridiculed as a dance event. Was the conference ultimately of greater significance with regard to the European Union?

Herrengasse is all about the fateful year of 1848, when revolutionary uprisings shook Europe to its very foundations. This was certainly not how the princes at the Congress of Vienna had imagined it! We continue back to the Middle Ages. Was he or wasn't he? Whether Charlemagne was actually in Vienna is debatable. In any case, the sublime gaze of the ruler, who is generally considered to be the first European, touches us from the walls of St. Peter's Church. Our tour ends at St. Stephen's Cathedral, enriched by many impressions, and we are surprised at how much European exchange has taken place in this impressive building since the Middle Ages! Today, however, the cathedral is ahead of its time as part of a European high-tech restoration project!

Tour duration: 1.5 to 2 hours
Number of participants: Up to 25 people

Public tours in May and June (all in German language!):

Sunday, May 19th, 15:00

Saturday, June 1st, 15:00

Sunday, June 9th, 11:00

Tour duration: 90 min. approximately

Price per ticket: € 26 for adults, € 13 for children up to 14 years

Number of participants per appointment limited to 15 persons.

Questions and registrations via the contact form or by mail to office@viennayourway.com.

Would you like a little more Europe? We cooperate with the multimedia exhibition "Experience Europe", which is located just a stone's throw from St. Stephen's Cathedral in Rotenturmstraße. There you can explore the entire EU in an interactive way! Vienna | Visiting | European Parliament (europa.eu)

Want to experience Europe from a mobile perspective in Vienna? Since summer 2023, the ontours app has been offering audio tours with which tourists and city travelers can explore Vienna by public transport in an individual, cost-effective and environmentally friendly way. The offer was recently expanded to include a special Europe tour, the content of which VIENNA YOUR WAY played a key role in setting up.

OTS_Logo (002).jpg
bottom of page

top of page
Europa-Tour Banner_edited.jpg

EUROPA IN WIEN

KARL DER GROSSE, HIGHTECH-PROJEKTE UND BEETHOVENS HYMNE
- EINE STADTTOUR DURCH 1200 JAHRE EUROPA IN WIEN

Wir starten unsere Tour am Haus der EU und der europäischen Gegenwart Wiens. Welche Bedeutung hat die EU eigentlich für Österreich? Ein paar Stolpersteine gab es auf dem Weg Österreichs in die Union. Wir beschäftigen uns etwas genauer mit ihnen und erforschen am PaN (Partner aller Nationen)-Tisch und dem Baumkreis im Sigmund-Freud-Park den spannenden geschichtlichen Kontext des Beitritts 1995.

Seine Hymne verdankt Europa Ludwig van Beethoven. Das Pasqualatihaus an der Ringstraße war eine der Wiener Wohnstätten des großen Komponisten. Das wohl wichtigste Versprechen bei der Gründung der Europäischen Union war das Versprechen für Frieden. Schon zu Beginn des 20. Jahrhunderts finden wir in Berta Zuckerkandl eine mutige Kämpferin gegen Gewalt und Krieg! Sie veranstaltete ihre Salons direkt neben dem Burgtheater. Als Tanzveranstaltung oft belächelt wurde hingegen der Wiener Kongress, dem wir am Ballhausplatz nachspüren. War die Konferenz mit Blick auf die Europäische Union am Ende doch von größerer Bedeutung?

In der Herrengasse geht es um das schicksalshafte Jahr 1848, in dem revolutionäre Aufstände ganz Europa in den Grundfesten erschütterten. So hatten es sich die Fürsten auf dem Wiener Kongress jedenfalls nicht vorgestellt! Weiter geht es zurück ins Mittelalter. War er oder war er nicht? Ob Karl der Große tatsächlich in Wien war, ist strittig. In jedem Fall streift uns von den Mauern der Peterskirche der erhabene Blick des Herrschers, der gemeinhin als erster Europäer gilt. Um viele Eindrücke reicher endet unsere Tour am Stephansdom und wir sind überrascht wieviel europäischer Austausch in diesem beeindruckenden Bauwerk schon seit dem Mittelalter steckt! Seiner Zeit voraus ist der Dom heute hingegen als Teil eines europäischen Hightech-Projekts bei den Restaurierungsarbeiten!

Tourdauer: 1,5 bis 2 Stunden
Teilnehmerzahl: Bis zu 25 Personen

Darf es noch etwas mehr Europa sein? Wir kooperieren mit der multimedialen Ausstellung „Erlebnis Europa“, die sich nur einen Katzensprung vom Stephansdom entfernt in der Rotenturmstraße befindet. Dort können Sie die gesamte EU auf interaktive Weise erkunden! Vienna | Besuch | Europäisches Parlament (europa.eu)

Sie wollen Europa in Wien mobil erleben? Die ontours App bietet bietet seit Sommer 2023 Audio-Touren, mit denen Touristinnen und Städtereisende Wien auf individuelle, kostengünstige und umweltschonende Weise mit den öffentlichen Verkehrsmitteln erkunden können. Das Angebot wurde kürzlich um eine spezielle Europa-Tour ergänzt, an deren inhaltlicher Ausgestaltung VIENNA YOUR WAY maßgeblich beteiligt war.

OTS_Logo (002).jpg
bottom of page