top of page
20231008_220450_edited.jpg

SPECIAL TOUR HALLOWEEN

OF WITCHES, GHOSTS AND VAMPIRES – A SPOOKY CITY TOUR THROUGH THE HISTORY OF VIENNA

Was that a shadow or just a flicker of lantern light? Are there wisps of mist drifting through the alley or was there a figure there just a moment ago? The nights are getting longer and soon it will be Halloween, the spookiest time of the year!

We take all our courage and go on a city tour of a special kind: it's about witches, ghosts, curses, undead and torture! At the beginning, however, is Gerard van Swieten, a famous vampire hunter - or what Hollywood made of him. Can the legends about bloodsuckers really be explained scientifically?

Goosebumps also on our walk around the Hofburg castle. It is said that the Habsburgs had to fight two curses during their long reign. Empress Elisabeth even took part in dubious séances and spirit conjurations. And who is the "White Woman" who is said to be up to mischief in the winding corridors of the palace?

The journey continues through the dark alleys of the old town. Shuddering, we hear about the crimes of the Blood Countess, learn how cruel executions and torture were in earlier times and ask ourselves in horror whether Vienna's only witch trial was really about sorcery. St. Stephen's Cathedral is also said to be haunted, but at the end of the tour we are rather surprised at how far back the roots of Halloween go in European culture.

Dates (all in German language!):

Friday, October 27th, 21:00

Sunday, October 29th, 19:00

Tuesday, October 31st, 22:30

Tour duration: 90 min. approximately

Price per ticket: € 24 for adults, € 12 for children up to 14 years

Number of participants per appointment limited to 15 persons.

Questions and registrations via the contact form or by mail to office@viennayourway.com.

bottom of page

top of page
20231008_220450_edited.jpg

SPEZIAL-TOUR HALLOWEEN

VON HEXEN, GEISTERN UND VAMPIREN – EINE GRUSELIGE STADTTOUR DURCH DIE GESCHICHTE WIENS

War das ein Schatten oder doch nur ein Flackern des Laternenlichts? Ziehen dort Nebelschwaden durch die Gasse oder war da eben noch eine Gestalt? Die Nächte werden länger und bald ist es so weit: Halloween, die gruseligste Zeit des Jahres!

Wir nehmen unseren ganzen Mut zusammen und begeben uns auf eine Stadttour der besonderen Art: es geht um Hexen, Geister, Flüche, Untote und Folter! Am Beginn steht mit Gerard van Swieten allerdings ein berühmter Vampirjäger – oder das, was Hollywood aus ihm machte. Lassen sich die Legenden um Blutsauger tatsächlich wissenschaftlich erklären?

Gänsehautfeeling auch um die Hofburg. Es heißt die Habsburger hätten während ihrer langen Herrschaft gleich gegen zwei Flüche kämpfen müssen. Kaiserin Elisabeth nahm gar an zweifelhaften Seancen und Geisterbeschwörungen teil. Und wer ist die „Weiße Frau“, die in den verwinkelten Gängen des Palastes ihr Unwesen treiben soll?

Weiter geht es durch die dunklen Gassen der Altstadt. Schaudernd hören wir von den Untaten der Blutgräfin, erfahren wie grausam Hinrichtungen und Folter in früheren Zeiten waren und fragen uns entsetzt, ob es bei Wiens einzigem Hexenprozess tatsächlich um Zauberei ging. Spuken soll es auch im Stephansdom, doch wir sind am Ende der Tour eher überrascht, wie weit die Wurzeln von Halloween in die europäische Kultur zurückreichen.

Termine:

Freitag, 27. Oktober, 21 Uhr

Sonntag, 29. Oktober, 19 Uhr

Dienstag, 31. Oktober, 22:30 Uhr


 

Dauer der Tour: ca. 90 Minuten

Preis pro Ticket: € 24 für Erwachsene, € 12 für Kinder bis 14 Jahre


Teilnehmer:innenzahl pro Termin auf 15 Personen begrenzt.

Fragen und Anmeldungen über das Kontaktformular oder per Mail an office@viennayourway.com.

bottom of page